WORSHIP NEWS - Sunday, May 1, 2016


This Sunday, Don Frampton is preaching on John 14:23-29 and Revelation 21:10, 22-22:5. His sermon is titled, “Dream On!”

This Sunday’s Bulletin: Sunday, May 1, 2016

Join us on Sunday mornings at 9:30 a.m. for Sunday School for all ages! See full class listings, here

News & Announcements

VBS Needs Adult Volunteers – This year’s VBS is full but we still need adult volunteers! Come join the fun and see why we have one of the strongest VBS’s in the city! Contact Michele Murphy, michele@scapc.org, to sign up.

Camp RHINO Summer Staff – RHINO is looking to hire college students or recent graduates for summer 2016 Camp RHINO staff. If you or someone you know is interested, please contact Caroline at Caroline@scapc.org or 504-897-0101×111.

Carrollton Summer Camp Needs Donations! – It’s time for this year’s superhero themed camp at Lafayette Academy on Carrollton Ave. June 13-24, 9 am-3 pm. Click HERE to see our needed supply list and HERE for the camper registration form! Questions? Contact Sean Tate, sean@scapc.org.

Youth DatDog Dinner – Youth Group will meet at Dat Dog on Freret St. on Sunday, May 8 from 5-6 p.m. for a Dutch Treat Dinner. Take a break from the stress of those upcoming exams to meet us for dinner! No other youth activities are planned. Questions? Contact Andy Fox, andy@scapc.org.

8th Annual 20/30’s Golf Tournament – Come join us at Audubon for a round of golf, prizes, and more! Saturday, May 14, 12:30 – 4 pm, Audubon Golf Club, $25/person. RSVP by 5/11 to genny@scapc.org. Space is limited.*Childcare not provided for this event.

Youth Family Crawfish Boil – Calling all youth families! Let’s get together at the FLY to celebrate another great year of SCAPC Youth Ministry! The only catch, we want youth AND parents AND siblings to attend. I can’t think of a better way to get to know other youth families than by eating crawfish and maybe even playing a game of kickball—Parents vs Kids!!! Don’t feel like playing? That’s okay! Come anyway to enjoy the food and company! Sunday, May 15, 4:30-7 p.m. RSVP to Andy Fox, andy@scapc.org, by May 9

St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church is currently searching for an Associate Pastor who will be a generalist in ministry but will have a special emphasis on local mission. Anyone interested is welcome to view the attached Ministry Information Form, or to contact Dr. Walter Harris, Chair, Associate Pastor Nominating Committee, at wharris13@cox.net. Thank you.

Small Groups:

CBD Study Group
Wednesdays | 7-8 a.m. | Between the Bread (625 St. Charles)
Contact: John Morton, johnmorton@cox.net

Spiritually Hungry Women
Wednesdays | 12:30-1:45 p.m. | LB
Contact: Miriam Schulingkamp, schuling@aol.com.

Men’s Bible Study
Wednesdays | 5 p.m. | Bloomfield Room
Contact: Don Frampton, don@scapc.org.

Thursday Morning Study & Prayer Group
Thursdays | 7 a.m. | Land Building, Riverside
Contact: Henrietta Harris, 504-737-0871.

PW Needleworks Group
Thursdays | 10 a.m. – Noon | Land Building, Lakeside
Contact: Mary Ann Mott, 504-866-4424.

PW Bible Studies
Meets once a month | Monday (11:45 a.m. & 2:30 p.m. Lambeth) | Tuesday (5:45 p.m)
Reading: 2015-16 Horizons Bible Study “Come to the Waters” by Judy Record Fletcher
Contact: Betty Hope, PW Moderator, hopehome@aol.com

MOMs (0-K) & MOM-SY (1-12 grade) Groups
Tuesdays | 9-10:30 a.m. | MOMs CC, MOM-SY LB | Childcare provided | Contact: Meg Kramer, mgammage@gmail.com or April Weiser, adweiser@cox.net.

20/30s PINTS (Presbyterians Imbibing in Necessary Theological Study)
Every other Tuesday | 7 p.m. | location varies
Contact: Genny Hagler, genny@scapc.org or http://www.facebook.com/groups/SCAPC2030

PW Book Club
First Thursday of the Month | 7 p.m. | Land Building | May 3Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Contact: Elizabeth Artigues, artigues@cox.net

Junior High Girls Small Group
meets monthly | 6:30-8 pm
Contact: Caitlin Vanderwolf, youth@scapc.org